‘Proud To Be’ Gratitude Awards for Sussex Black History Month 2021

The ‘Proud To Be’ Gratitude Awards for Sussex Black History Month 2021 recognise health and care staff who have made a difference in our ongoing work to challenge racism, inequality and injustice across the Sussex health and care sector and beyond.

The winners were announced at the Sussex Black History Month Highlight webinar – Reaching New Heights on 19 October 2021.

Black History Month (BHM) is an annual observance to recognise and celebrate Black history and the future. This year Sussex Health and Care Partnership organisations are honoured to come together to be part of Black History Month – an opportunity for all our staff to be part of the national celebrations and events to honour the too-often unheralded accomplishments of Black Britons in every area of endeavour throughout our history.

The 2021 campaign for Black History Month invites Black and Brown people to share what they are Proud To Be.

Adam Doyle, Sussex Health and Care Partnership leader and co-chair for the Sussex Health and Care Partnership BAME programme Turning the Tide, said:

I am proud to support this year’s Black History Month. The year 2020 shone a real spotlight on race and social justice in the making and this year we continue to focus on our actions to tackle racism all year round.

This year’s theme ‘Proud to Be’ is inspired by Black Lives Matter and invites Black and Brown people of all ages throughout the UK to share what they are ‘Proud To Be’.  It’s about making the October month a personal, familial and communal journey that celebrates the contribution and achievements of Black and Brown people throughout history.

‘Proud To Be’ allows us to celebrate and share stories that adds the richness of diversity to the fabric of our society.

Congratulations and thank you to all our award winners – I am so proud of the work we are doing together to tackle race inequality and challenge racism. I am humbled and inspired by the work of my colleagues which has led to these awards.