The new NHS Sussex Board of directors have been appointed and will formally start from 1 July 2022. The Board is accountable for strategic planning, resource allocation of all NHS organisations and the performance of NHS organisations in Sussex.

The Board is made up of a Chair, five Non-Executive Directors, five Executive Directors, and five partner members.

The Chair of NHS Sussex has been appointed by NHS England and is responsible for appointing the Chief Executive, in line with NHS England guidance.

NHS Sussex has a Board Appointments Panel which is responsible for appointing

The five independent Non-Executive Directors and Associated Non-Executive Directors have been appointed by a Board Appointments Panel and each have a maximum term of office of four years. Their role is to provide independent scrutiny and assurance to the Board.

The partner members are made up of representatives from NHS trusts, primary care services and three from local authorities.

Stephen Lightfoot, Chair Designate

New Chair appointed for future Sussex Integrated Care Board

Stephen Lightfoot is the Chair Designate of the future Integrated Care Board (ICB) for Sussex and the future Integrated Care Partnership (ICP) for Sussex.

Stephen is also Chair of the Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (MHRA) and has recently completed his eight-year term as Deputy Chair of Sussex Community NHS Foundation Trust and his term as Non-Executive Chair of Sussex Primary Care Limited.

Prior to his non-executive roles, Stephen had a 30-year career in the life sciences industry working on the development, manufacture and commercialisation of medicines and medical devices in a wide range of therapy areas for UK and global healthcare companies.

Adam Doyle, Chief Executive Officer Designate

Adam Doyle

Adam Doyle is the Chief Executive Officer Designate of the future Integrated Care Board (ICB) for Sussex.

Adam has worked within the Sussex system for the last five years and is currently the leader of the Sussex ICS as well as the Chief Executive Officer for the three Sussex Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs).

He has overseen the significant turnaround of the commissioning system across Sussex, having taken the original seven CCGs from an inadequate to a good position, and the reshaping of the Sussex ICS into one of the most improved systems in the country. Over the last 18 months, he has led the NHS system response to COVID-19 and the COVID-19 vaccination programme, as well as the continued transformation and development of the ICS ahead of the proposed national reforms.

Adam started his NHS career as a physiotherapist and has held a number of senior healthcare roles, which have included advising government departments on key strategic public policy reforms.

Louise Ansari, Non-Executive Director Designate

Louise Ansari

Louise Ansari is the National Director of Healthwatch and is also a Lay Member for East Sussex CCG. Previously to that, Louise had senior leadership, public engagement and communication roles in The Centre for Ageing Better, Diabetes UK, The Council of Europe in Strasbourg and Lambeth Council in London.  Louise will chair the NHS Sussex Population Outcomes Committee.

Susan Marshall MBE, Non-Executive Director Designate

Susan Marshall

Susan Marshall retired as the Chief Nurse of Sussex Community NHS Foundation Trust after 6 years in 2020 and prior to that was the Director of Nursing at the Black Country Partnership NHS Foundation Trust. Sue has a broad clinical nursing career, received a Queens Nurse Award and has been a Florence Nightingale Scholar, CQC Inspector and contributor to National Patient Safety Reviews.  Sue will chair the NHS Sussex Patient Experience Committee.

Bola Lafe, Non-Executive Director Designate

Bola Lafe

Bola Lafe is the Founder and CEO of his own company in Crawley, which develops, manufactures and distributes sustainable personal healthcare and eco-living products in 20 countries around the world. He is also a Board Trustee for a Non Governmental Organisation called Nurses Reaching Out. Prior to that, Bola held senior roles in major international investment banks in London, New York and Tokyo.  Bola will chair the NHS Sussex System Productivity Committee.

Professor Ashok Soni OBE, Non-Executive Director Designate

Ashok Soni

Ash Soni is a Pharmacist and Director of his own independent chain of pharmacies in London, in addition to being Vice President of the International Pharmacy Federation, previous President of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society and a NED for Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust. Ash previously held a number of leadership roles with Lambeth CCG and several other national professional bodies. Ash will chair the NHS Sussex Workforce & Remuneration Committee.

Paul King, Non-Executive Director Designate

Paul King

Paul King is a qualified Accountant and Ombudsman with the Financial Ombudsman Service.  Previously, he was an Associate Partner at one of the Big Four accounting firms and led the external financial audits of many NHS Trusts, CCGs, Police, Fire and Local Authorities across Sussex until 2019.  Paul also has a strong and personal interest in disabilities, autistic people and Learning Disabilities. Paul will chair the NHS Sussex Audit & Risk Management Committee.

Faustina Bayo, Associate Non-Executive Director Designate

Faustina Bayo

Faustina Bayo is a Senior Community Development Officer for Action in Rural Sussex and is also an Associate Lay Member for Brighton & Hove CCG. Faustina has extensive experience of working with Local Authorities, District Councils and Parish Councils in the development of community-led consultations and neighbourhood planning.  Faustina will be a Member of three of the NHS Sussex Board Assurance Committees.

Further appointments will be announced soon.